ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > Blogs > Smurfette and Me

Notices

Rate this Entry

...but wait, we're supposed to turn here...

Posted August 25th, 2013 at 03:45 PM by skbrent

So yesterday afternoon we headed north to have dinner with my boyfriend's parents. It's about 65 miles from home. I wanted to take the bikes so I mapped out a route that avoided the interstate and most traffic. I'm still a newbie after all.

So we're driving along... I have no speedometer . It's come unhooked at the top end. I tried to communicate my concern to my boyfriend at two different stop lights . I can see the end...and I can see it slipping farther and farther down. I start wondering where all that slack is ending up and is it going to end up in the front wheel or chain or someplace else I really don't want it to be.

So I stop at a gas station (I turn my blinker on well before the upcoming gas station in hopes that he'll notice I'm planning to turn, Mr. oblivious keeps on driving ). I find the cable hanging out the bottom, really probably not terribly safe and pretty close to the top end slipping down far enough to be flapping in the wind.

I wait for my him to notice I'm no longer with him and turn around to find me (getting more annoyed with each passing minute ). He does, tries for a minute or two but can't get the cable reattached so he just takes it off completely and we go on about our (not so ) happy way.

We head down the road and get to the turn to take the back roads...and he just drives right by . I know what route he's decided to take...and it takes me through traffic. We had a conversation about the route I wanted to take, how I had found a way to get there that would have very little traffic, etc. Apparently he has TIHL (testosterone induced hearing loss) .