ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old March 2nd, 2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Birthdayninja86
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Chris

Motorcycle(s): 1986 kawasaki ninja 250

86' engine swap

Hey everyone, Im pretty new to the motorcycle world and im trying to figure some stuff out about the engine on my bike. I have a 1986 ninja 250 and im losing compression. im not exactly sure what to do.

One option im leaning toward is an engine swap. the only issue is i havent seen another 86 for sale around here. now my big question is would any of the other years mount up on an 86? from what ive read the engines for most of the year excluding the newest gen are basically the same. but what about the frame? if someone could let me know if i can do this it would be greatly appreciated (i dont have the money to buy an engine that wont fit)

Thanks
Chris
Birthdayninja86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 2nd, 2012, 01:13 PM   #2
csmith12
The Corner Whisperer

Name: Chris (aka Reactor)

Motorcycle(s): 2010 250 (track), 1992 250, 2006 R6 (street/track), 2008 R6 (track)

MOTY 2015, MOTM - Nov '12, Nov '13
Welcome Chris, good luck with the bike.
csmith12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 13th, 2012, 07:06 PM   #3
ajmueller
ninjette.org member

Name: Adam

Motorcycle(s): EX250-E2

It is possible but...

...it depends on your skill.

The '87 "E2" is the only other model that matches the '86 "E1."

http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/I_have_...s_different%3F

This is an excerpt from that link:

"You can swap any '88-07 (F series) engine into an '86-87 (E series) chassis by swapping the alternator cover and flywheel from the older engine to the newer engine. By swapping the alternator covers you swap out the wiring and ignition pickup coils.