ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old January 10th, 2013, 10:44 AM   #1
kmcdonald5500
ninjette.org member

Name: Kenny

Motorcycle(s): None Yet

General Used Bike Buying Questions

I was hoping we could get a thread going about general things to look for when buying a used bike off of Craigslist. I don't have a bike yet but im hoping to get one very soon and I have been scanning Craigslist just in case a good deal pops up. But being a complete newbie and knowing almost nothing about engines and bikes in general, i was hoping you guys could give me some tips on what to look for or questions to ask when looking at the bike.

I recently came across an ad just posted on Craigslist last night that probably falls under the "too good to be true" category. Its a 2007 Suzuki GSXR 1000 with 9,100 miles for $2200. The seller is also throwing in 3 helmets, a jacket, and gloves. He doesn't say anything about the condition of the bike but from the pictures it looks almost brand new. I blue booked the value at ~$7300.

I emailed him asking for some more info but if i were to go look at this bike or another used bike in person, what kinds of things should i look for and what questions should I ask?
kmcdonald5500 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 10th, 2013, 10:55 AM   #2
nautica
Gixxer Powered

Name: Brett

Motorcycle(s): 2007 GSXR 600