ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Farkles

Old July 14th, 2011, 10:08 AM   #1
solo440
ninjette.org member

Name: Alex

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R SE

Which Shogun Frame Sliders?

So i have decided that the first thing i should buy for my 09 250R is frame sliders (after i buy my gear, of course.) I am fairly new to riding motorcycles so i figure if i do lay the bike over (which statistically is very likely), then i would like the bike to be protected. I decided to buy Shogun frame sliders, but i was wondering if there was a difference in the two kinds i am looking at. The first set is the one reccomended by many people and has a price of 149.00. Here is the link.
The second set are Shoguns also, but they are Shogun Carbon S5 sliders. Here is the link.
I don't konw which set to get, the first is $75 cheaper, but i like the look of the second set better. However, the second set has metal endcaps whic hi have heard react differently on a low side crash.

Any opinions, etc. would be helpful. Thanks!
solo440 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 14th, 2011, 10:18 AM   #2
00NissanNinja
I hate driving...

Name: S

Motorcycle(s): 13 Triumph Street Triple R, 09 Ninja 250r (Sold 4/20/12)

Yeah I was trying to decide between those as well. In the end I just went with the cheaper ones. Depending on what kind of carbon fiber they used it may be more brittle than the polycarbonate they use on the cheaper ones, thus the carbon ones may do more harm in a fall. But I was unsure of what the materials are and no one really seems to want to spend the extra (and consequently I have seen no crash reports on them) so because of that I went with the tried and true normal sliders. They do look great though and I really wanted the s5 sliders

09 ninja 2fiddy SE Driving slow things fast
00NissanNinja is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 14th, 2011, 03:04 PM   #3
CThunder-blue
ModMy250.com

Name: Tri