ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > New Members

Old May 31st, 2015, 05:34 PM   #1
Jahjahwarrior
ninjette.org member

Name: Mike

Motorcycle(s): 96 ninja 250

New in Florida with a '96!

I'm a newb, and after reading this site voraciously for the last 2 months, I finally got off my butt and joined.

Took the MSF course a month and a half ago, and got licensed two days later. Already had the '96 Ninja 250 with 22k miles in the garage, but had no riding experience.

Bought it without riding it from a guy 2 miles from my house, and got him to ride it over for me, after doing a lot of research and finding that the Ninja met almost all of my requirements. Cheap ($1200), easy to find and cheap to buy replacement parts (eBay!), relatively upright riding posture similar to a sport touring bike, gobs of gas mileage. And I'm not vain at all but it didn't hurt that the blue matched my car.

I knew going into it that the bike needed a battery, we jumped it to get it to my house, but otherwise the seller said he'd just done fluid and brake change, and it would be good for a few thousand miles.

That would turn out to be more or less, not the case, depending on how much care you put into your bike.

The first thing I noticed was how difficult the key was, you had to jiggle it to get the bike to start. It wouldn't open the gas cap and I just barely got the helmet lock off to find the key code. The seat lock, which I needed to remove to replace the battery, also refused to work. $29 to a guy on eBay to cut the key by the code.

While I wait for the key I sorted out the issue with the seat lock: the latch wasn't connected to the lock. The seat release cable is just hanging down, missing some pieces, and you pull it to release. Still haven't gotten that fixed...