ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycling News

Old March 2nd, 2016, 07:40 AM   #1
Ninjette Newsbot
All the news that's fit to excerpt

Name: newsie

Motorcycle(s): only digital replicas

[American Motorcyclist Association] - AMA Member Tested: Warm & Safe Heated Jacket

Versatile Heated Jacket

MSRP: $239.95
www.warmnsafe.com/generation-4-womens-heated-liner/

By Lisa Malachowsky

I’ve been riding for over 30 years, and I have lived in areas where riding with heated clothing was a requirement if you wanted to extend your riding season. When I moved from Northern California to Arizona, I packed my heated gear in storage. That was almost six years ago, and I’ve only used it once when I was riding in Montana at altitude. Come this past December, some of our mornings in Arizona dipped down to 37 degrees, which gave me the opportunity to put Warm & Safe’s Generation 4 Women’s Heated Liner to the test.

Years ago, my first heated gear was a vest, but my arms always got quite cold, and there was little to no adjustment on the amount of heat it delivered. In the early 2000s, I graduated to a FirstGear jacket designed by Warm & Safe.

This Generation 4 Jacket proved that it is a piece of equipment that has gone through testing and time in the saddle. It generates 90 watts of heat using something the company calls “Soft Heat Pure Science Heating Method.” It has reflective piping to be seen better at night and reflective material at the neck.

When you size this jacket, you will want it to be snug so that the anti-bacterial stretch panels will keep heat against your body as intended. It is a breathable shell with wind stop and moisture block.

It is intended to be used with the Warm & Safe “Heat-troller,” which is a controller designed to regulate the temperature delivered to the jacket. The Heat-troller was easy to use. I stuck it in the top of my tank bag so I could easily reach it with my left hand and adjust the temperature while riding.