Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old August 9th, 2012, 01:46 PM   #1
GvilleMike
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Mike

Motorcycle(s): none yet

Ninja for low speed, in-town commuting?

Hello all,

I am new to riding, actually just passed my MSF course and other than that, I have 0 moto experience. I've been looking at different bikes and need some advice from people who actually own the ninja 250.

I live in Gainesville, FL - a small college town of about 150,000 people and the only interstate is on the outskirts of town(therefore I will seldom be using it). Starting in a few weeks, I will need to commute between work and school, during my work hours, and therefore need something I can park up close and personal without losing too much time. Moto parking is great on campus, but parking for cars/trucks does not exist.

So the primary purpose of whatever bike I end up getting will be commuting, mainly on roads that average between 20 and 45mph. When I say 20, I mean 20. It's on campus and it's enforced. The rest of the commute is 35-45, and it's almost all stop and go traffic the entire commute(including the 20 zone).

I was originally looking at the Honda CBR250R, mainly for the fact that it is fuel injected and ABS, which seemed like great features for first time riders, not to mention it's low end torque due to being a thumper. After checking what it's like to insure a new bike for collision in FL - screw that. Also good luck finding one of those used.

That leaves me pretty much with the ninja 250, pregen or new-gen. I'd like to stay in the sport styling and don't really fancy a rebel/gz250/virago. My main question is - will the ninjettes high power band make it a pain in the ass for in-town low speed commuting? Will the lack of torque in the low range affect me a lot going from light to light? Will I have to rev the crap out of it in order to feel some get-up? Just looking for some real world advice for the in-town commuter.