Old February 25th, 2012, 02:06 PM   #1
RiderOnTheStorm
ninjette.org member

Name: Brian

Motorcycle(s): Blue 08 250 - Blue Magic

Are Performance Parts worth it?

Hello all,

I need your expertise!

I just started riding (I have all of 40 miles beneath my belt), but I hope one day to acquire a few more, bigger bikes. But for now the 250 is perfect.

But I am getting an itch to add an exhaust system and see what else I could do to make the 250 a little more beastly. Is it worth it? Like I said, down the road I would like a bigger bike - should I just save my money for that?

I am not trying to make this bike a 1000 - I am really trying to understand if the 250 becomes an even better experience with a little bit more power.

Thanks!
RiderOnTheStorm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2012, 02:15 PM   #2
CynicalC
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Colin

Motorcycle(s): '96 EX250

Depends on your definition of worth. For the performance gains, not really. There are very small, noticeable gains to be had, but nothing that'll blow you away. But if you value customization, then sure.

Old February 25th, 2012, 02:22 PM   #3
Kevin2109
KThanksBye

Name: Kevin

Motorcycle(s): 2006 zx636r

If you plan on doing all the work yourself then yes I think its worth it from a stand point on learning how to work on bikes. If your looking for performance gains its kinda a waist (I spend almost $2k on mods on my 250, sold it 6 months later)

I think cosmetic stuff is worth it if you want to change the look

Old February 25th, 2012, 02:22 PM   #4
choneofakind

Name: .

Motorcycle(s): .

MOTM - Feb '13, Feb '14
It makes a difference to how the bike feels. I have made changes to my bike with the idea that I know I'm keeping it till it dies, and I want to get as much as I can out of my bike, but within a reasonable budget.