Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old March 2nd, 2009, 05:41 PM   #1
ARc
Revolver Wario

Name: Jeffrey

Motorcycle(s): 2003 Ninja 250

Logo Dude
Wanting to Tackle Canyons!

I've been riding for about 2 months now, and was wondering what kind of advice you have for a newb that want to try out canyon riding. What kinds of things did you notice that the 250 liked to do? Are there any things that I have to be on the look out for when I ride? When are the best times to go?

Those are the questions that have been floating around in my mind. If you have any other tips that are relevant, please post!

Thanks ;D

Old March 2nd, 2009, 06:04 PM   #2
aloh
lolwut

Name: Alex

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

In for some tips as well....

Old March 2nd, 2009, 06:21 PM   #3
noche_caliente
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Kim

Motorcycle(s): '08 250

The biggest tip I can give, and that's coming from someone who lives in the mountains and only has the twisties to ride on if I want to stay out of traffic - is to wait until you are absolutely comfortable, ride your own ride, and keep your cool. It can be intimidating when you look over and see the sheer drop off the side...
I would also advise waiting a few more months until you know there won't be any snow/ice/sand/gravel left over from winter weather. Riding the roads a few times in your car beforehand so that you are familiar with the curves and any potential trouble spots will also make it a much safer experience for you.

Again, this is all coming from an inexperienced rider as well, but I do have over 20 years of seat time with my dad - I just wasn't in control - then again, he's the only one who can be when you're with him
noche_caliente is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 2nd, 2009, 06:35 PM   #4
BlueTyke
So slow I'm first!

Name: Sunny

Motorcycle(s): 06 Kawasaki Ninja EX250

Ride your own ride. Stay within your comfort.