ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 31st, 2010, 09:46 AM   #1
peachdiddy
Former ninjette rider

Name: Andy

Motorcycle(s): 2011 Honda CB1000R

MGP Growler, yes or no?

Hey folks, this is my first time posting a new thread, and I have a question for those of you who have put aftermarket exhaust on your ninjettes. I've been looking around for a while, Akra, Yoshi, Two Brothers, etc. I ran across the MGP Growler slip on. See, it says that it's a basic OEM replacement, so no re-jetting necessary. Do any of you buy that it doesn't require jetting? From what I understand the bike could use some bigger jets whilst being bone stock. Comments, questions, experiences? Thanks!

peachdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 31st, 2010, 10:15 AM   #2
want1sobad
Ninjette CPT

Name: Vince

Motorcycle(s): Black 08 250r

andy,

welcome to the forum. i think you will find that the consensus regarding a slip-on is "don't waste your money". a slip-on will provide next to nothing in terms of performance, but if your only reason for even considering is appearance, that's your call. slip-on won't require any changes to stock jetting. have you shimmed your needles? this is something you should definitely consider doing (even if you keep the stock can). otherwise, save a bit more money and get a full system and a jet kit (big performance gain). if you decide on a full system, the Area P Quiet Core is probably your best option for performance gains.
want1sobad is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 31st, 2010, 10:21 AM   #3
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

/moved to new-gen tech

ninjette.org Terms of Service

Shopping for motorcycle parts or equipment? Come here first.

The friendliest Ninja 250R/300/400 forum on the internet! (especially Unregistered)
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote