ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 21st, 2013, 10:05 PM   #1
hawker1693
ninjette.org member

Name: Hawker

Motorcycle(s): 2001 Ninja 250

Lost Front Engine Mount Bolt - Pics of damage inside

Thought i'd share my close call. I'm a newb have logged about 900 miles on my used and quite rough ninja.

I'll tell you the story....BTW hindsight is always better!

Anyywayyss, I needed to take a package to the UPS store today which is about 15 miles away so I strapped down the package after much struggle since I didn't have proper straps..meanwhile I got distracted and decided to tighten a bolt which proceeded to break and lead to a whole lot of frustration and me saying the words "how could this day get any worse?"

Well, on my way home from the UPS store it got worse. I wanted to have a little fun on the exit so I leaned into it (probably looking like a total newb, but fun never the less) and something started scraping the ground... "I cant be leaning that far can I!!?!?! wonder if its the center stand..whatever better stand back up a bit" come to a stop and realize my seat is leaning really far forwards and my bike is smoking jumped off and found this:

Yeah...that missing bolt was pretty important lol Shoulda gone over the bike a bit more before trusting it. But I am glad it didn't happen about 5 seconds earlier it could have been much worse.

Old August 22nd, 2013, 05:51 AM   #2
Unleashed
ninjette.org member

Name: Tony

Motorcycle(s): CBR600, Ninja 250r

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawker1693 View Post
Thought i'd share my close call. I'm a newb have logged about 900 miles on my used and quite rough ninja.

I'll tell you the story....BTW hindsight is always better!