ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old February 10th, 2014, 08:25 AM   #1
Artie
ninjette.org member

Name: Art

Motorcycle(s): '06 EX250F

Track Day - Budget Build

Hi everyone,

This will be my budget track build… for the most part, a learners bike to get my feet wet, and see if I want to pursue it any further.
I’ve been riding for a few years, but only on streets.

I do not have a trailer, and even if I did, I don’t have a car capable of pulling one, so I need the bike to be street legal… which means title, plates, and lights …all of which it has, and will keep.
I recently picked up a very neglected ’06 EX250F, which needs almost everything. The only things it had going for it was a straight frame, and a clean title.

I’ll post a few things I’ve already done to it, and if anyone has any suggestions, they’ll be greatly appreciated.

I want to try and keep my budged under BBK value… somewhere around 1000-1500.
I figure this way if I do enjoy track days and decide to go bigger, I won’t have any regrets selling it.

Artie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 10th, 2014, 08:34 AM   #2
Artie
ninjette.org member

The bike looks like a steel at $200… until you start taking it apart and find more and more busted pieces.

I know some of the pictures are blurry, but that's camera phone for you

Old February 10th, 2014, 08:37 AM   #3
jkv45
Rev Limiter

Name: Jay

Motorcycle(s): '06 SV650n, '00 Derbi GPR, '64 CA77 Dream 305, '70 CL450 Scrambler, numerous dirt bikes

MOTM - Jun '18, Oct '16
For the track - tires, suspension, and brakes are the most important items IMO.

Engine just needs to be tuned properly and all other components need to be in good order (chain, sprockets, fluids, etc).

No trailer or car that could pull it? Almost any car can pull a small cycle trailer with the 250 on it.

Are you planning to ride it to the trackday? I'd never suggest doing that.
jkv45 is offline   Reply With Quote