Old July 1st, 2014, 07:08 AM   #1
akima
Nooblet

Name: Akima

Motorcycle(s): 2011 Ninja 250R FI

MOTM - Oct '13
High side on wet intersection

Link to original page on YouTube.

Very nice cagers to help him out like that.

The rider wrote this about his crash:

Quote:
Many thanks to the 3 blokes who stopped to help me! If any of you recognise these guys please let them know that I am extremely grateful for their help! They were top notch guys.

In the end this was my mistake, but before people call me a noob I should point out that I've been riding for 4 years, I don't have a car, and I hate public transport. Therefore I have a decent amount of wet riding experience. While this was my mistake just remember that unfortunately everyone comes off eventually.

The only explanation I can really give about what I did wrong was that my bike had been stalling occasionally when taking off, so I'd gotten into the habit of applying a lot of throttle when taking off to compensate (My bike is experiencing what I suspect may be bad coils). This was the first day of rain for a very long time. I had filtered to the front, and I usually accelerate quickly to make sure I get out of everyone's way (after checking for light runners of course).

I remember hearing the revs rise very quickly, but I wasn't moving much, so I released the clutch very quickly and that lead all the power to the rear wheel at once. The road wet and oily, I lost traction and it fishtailed.

I've had people tell me I could have recovered from the fishtail.. but I honestly don't think I could have once it started. It just happened to quickly for me to react accordingly. I've gone through the footage, and timed that:
* I had 930ms (not even a second) between starting to fishtail and the bike peaking sideways.
* I had 1666ms (1.67 seconds) between starting to fishtail and my hands touching the road.