ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old October 25th, 2010, 12:42 PM   #1
jc_ninja
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Josh

Motorcycle(s): 2004 Ninja 250

Question Bike Purchase

Hey,
I am new to both the motorcycle and ninjette community and had a few lurking questions before i made my first purchase. A local dealer has a 2004 with 500 miles on. It appears to be in great condition and confusing as to why it has so few miles. They want $2000 for it, is this a good deal or what is a good price for it? I am trying to buy this ASAP if you can help that would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks in advance,
Josh
jc_ninja is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 25th, 2010, 01:13 PM   #2
FrugalNinja250
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Frugal

Motorcycle(s): Several

The 250 Ninja is a great starter bike and is bought by many for that purpose. For some, it turns out that riding isn't for them and for others they feel ready to move on to a different bike fairly quickly. Either reason would be legit for this bike having that few miles. Likely it was traded in for a larger bike at that low miles.

Price-wise, I think that's about par for what a dealer is going to ask as they roll in some markup to cover some costs. They also frequently like to roll in other charges, especially if you're looking to buy the bike on a note instead of outright.

If you're new, I would recommend getting a much cheaper bike, one that's been dropped but otherwise runs well. The reason why is that you're pretty much guaranteed to drop your first bike within the first few months, at least once, and if the bike's already a little beat up you will have lost not much on value.