ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old May 19th, 2011, 01:13 AM   #1
Truckian
ninjette.org member

Name: Ian

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

2007 dies when stopping

It seems that when I attempt to stop, or even just slow down, from going 7-10k RPM or so, my engine will die.

I'll let off the throttle, pull in the clutch, start to brake, my RPMs will start to drop, and the engine dies. It's like it can't handle dropping from such a high RPM or something. It seems to help if I set my idle up to around 2100 or so, but I haven't really tested it out enough to be sure. Either way I don't care to have my idle that high anyway, so I still have a problem.

I'm new to this motorcycle thing, so I really have no clue what could be wrong. Thus, I come to you fine fellows

Any ideas?
Truckian is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 19th, 2011, 03:20 AM   #2
CynicalC
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Colin

Motorcycle(s): '96 EX250

Is it only when you clutch in or it happens while engine braking? Does it run better with the choke on? Sounds like you might just be running lean.
CynicalC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 19th, 2011, 08:44 AM   #3
Jinx250
Smoker

Name: Bob

Motorcycle(s): Guess....

Oh, so many options.... Could be your valves are tight, you could have the idle settings too rich, you could have a loose wire, the list goes on and on. Start by providing more info, like mileage, 49 state bike or CA bike (does it have 3 hoses or 1 coming from the back of the tank?). Maintenenace history. Does it start right back up or does it have to sit a while?
Jinx250 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 20th, 2011, 12:22 PM   #4
shiftdrift06
ninjette.org member

Name: Z

Motorcycle(s): None

Tight valves...When is the last time you adjusted them?
shiftdrift06 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 20th, 2011, 12:25 PM   #5
kkim

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiftdrift06 View Post