ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old December 6th, 2011, 03:20 PM   #1
k24_cm7
ninjette.org member

Name: Drew

Motorcycle(s): '10 250R SE

Warped Front rotor?

Hey guys,

So I have a 2010 ninja 250r I bought used and it has just about 3500km (approx 2200miles) and I noticed that when riding at lower speeds there is a loud screeching notice that happens consistantly every few seconds.

The two things I thought of was either the brakes are worn down and done, or the rotor is warped. But from searching there was issues with something about a axle being too tight? I believe its my rotor though, Im not sure what kind of driving the previous owner did but you can see the glazing on the spots where the rotor is rubbing against the pad.

Is it common for rotors to go this soon on bikes? Im more of a car guy and im new to bikes but it seems like the only way to fix this issue is to go with a brand new rotor? Is it me or it seems like the rotor is prematurely done, (also depends greatly on braking habits too).

also a bit off topic, but when I bought my bike the owner lost the owners manual (not the service manual) , is there any where I can find one? Or is it needed really? I do have the service manual though...

Thanks!
k24_cm7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old December 6th, 2011, 03:54 PM   #2
Skippii
Milkshake Drinker

Name: Skippii

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Orange DRZ400-S, 2005 Ninja 250 & Custom Thundercunt Dirt Chopper

Screeching is generally caused by worn out pads.
Are the pads look worn out? That would be the first thing to check.

Warped rotors cause a pulsing sensation on the brake lever as the warped section passes over the brake pads.

Brake pads wear out much more quickly than rotors, normally.

Using worn out brake pads will very quickly warp a rotor.

Old December 6th, 2011, 04:30 PM   #3
k24_cm7
ninjette.org member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skippii View Post