ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Off-Topic

Old October 28th, 2010, 01:07 PM   #1
edwinmcq
ninjette.org member

Name: Ed

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R

Suggestion for good, low cost, ultralight laptop.

All.

I'm looking for some suggestions on a good, low cost , ultra-light laptop. I want to hear some real-life testimonials, not some crap you read off the internet. I am a computer forensics expert and I can read, so second hand doesn't do me good. I find hearing it from real owners is the best way.

If you have a 13-15 inch nice ultra-light and you like it, please let me know what kind.

I already have a Toshiba M305 , which has served me well , but it has taken a beating and I can not rebuild it anymore. I also have a Toshiba NB205-320..."Ed's Special Blend" , love it for taking with me on the bike, but it isn't good for taking on client meetings.

Old October 28th, 2010, 01:41 PM   #2
edwinmcq
ninjette.org member

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsketch View Post
If you can wait for black friday man, tons of good stuff going to be out there...

Otherwise the dell outlet site usually has good deals, and any i3+ with 3+gb ram will be g2g... Note the outlet site are usually business returns and are certified refurbs, just buy the warranty... I have bought everything from laptops to servers from there..
Very good point about the outlets. A large amount of the outlet stuff isn't even refurbed, but are "one offs" and over runs from specific corporate specs that either didn't get sold or were made in excess in the event of a QC problem.

I bought an IBM once from their outlet after big lay-offs at Motorala and sold it a year later for more than I paid.

Last futzed with by edwinmcq; October 28th, 2010 at 01:43 PM. Reason: My Fing keyboard is broken...really.
edwinmcq is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 28th, 2010, 01:44 PM   #3
CThunder-blue
ModMy250.com

Name: Tri

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R, 2005 R6