Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Ride Reports

Old June 11th, 2012, 04:50 PM   #1
hirubhaiambani
Ninjette Fanboy

Name: HB

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja250

Long distance riding - suggestions

Hello fellow Ninja riders,

So I am planning to attend reunion with my old college buddies in New Orleans towards the end of September for a weekend. I checked tickets to NOLA from STL and being a poor graduate student, I cannot afford them. So the thought of riding my 2008 Ninja to NOLA from STL on a Thursday and back on Sunday crossed my mind.

I have about 600 miles riding experience in the past 2.5 months. I'm not sure if I am skilled enough to handle long distance riding. So I wanted to ask you experienced riders to share some tips and/or experiences of your first long distance ride on the Ninja250R.

And if somebody has done a STL > NOLA trip before, I will be most eager to hear about it.

Thanks a ton!

Hirubhaiambani
hirubhaiambani is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 11th, 2012, 04:54 PM   #2
Indy250r
ninjette.org member

Name: Brad

Motorcycle(s): 2011 KTM 990 ADV

Where to where? How far is it?

(Welcome to ninjette.org!)
Indy250r is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 11th, 2012, 04:57 PM   #3
xSean13
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Sean

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Ninja 250r (sold) / '03 CBR 600RR

Sounds like a pretty fun & long trip. I have not done any long-distance riding, but a 15T front sprocket should help reduce the rpms for highway riding, and it's cheap pretty.
xSean13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 11th, 2012, 05:06 PM   #4
Fijilight08
ninjette.org member

Name: Gabe

Motorcycle(s): 250r

The longest i've done is 40 miles on the highway. How far is the ride for your reunion?
Fijilight08 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 11th, 2012, 05:16 PM   #5
FrugalNinja250
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Frugal

Motorcycle(s): Several

Quote:
Originally Posted by hirubhaiambani View Post
Hello fellow Ninja riders,