ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old July 21st, 2017, 05:20 PM   #1
kvgeorge1
ninjette.org member

Name: Ken

Motorcycle(s): EX250J

Missing Oil Filter Fence

I just purchased a 2008 Ninja 250R from a friend of mine and noticed that it needed an oil change (oil was black as pitch). Now, I also noticed that the level was too high. So, I began the process of draining the oil and removing the filter. Low and behold, when I removed the filter, the filter fence is missing. I am no mechanic and this is all new to me (including motorcycles), so my questions/concerns are:

1. Is this a big deal?

2. Could this cause issues with the clutch and/or transmission since this bike has a wet-clutch?

3. Could damage be caused by over-filling the oil?
kvgeorge1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 21st, 2017, 06:20 PM   #2
Brother Michigan
ninjette.org sage

Name: Aaron

Motorcycle(s): 2013 Ninja 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvgeorge1 View Post
I just purchased a 2008 Ninja 250R from a friend of mine and noticed that it needed an oil change (oil was black as pitch). Now, I also noticed that the level was too high. So, I began the process of draining the oil and removing the filter. Low and behold, when I removed the filter, the filter fence is missing. I am no mechanic and this is all new to me (including motorcycles), so my questions/concerns are:

1. Is this a big deal?

2. Could this cause issues with the clutch and/or transmission since this bike has a wet-clutch?

3. Could damage be caused by over-filling the oil?
1. Probably not, but you should definitely replace it.

2. Possibly, but it's not likely. The filter itself would have caught anything missed by the mesh even if that's not the ideal situation.