ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old January 16th, 2013, 10:02 AM   #1
BoKing
ninjette.org member

Name: Bo

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

Shifting lever completely limp

2007 250 Ninja

I was driving home from a friend's house and about 5 miles from home, while changing gears, I noticed I had zero resistance on the shifting lever when I popped my toe up. My bike was stuck in first gear, and it took me an hour to get back home, putting along between neighborhoods at 7 mph in the cold

I get home and look at it, and the lever is completely limp. It will move all the way up, arc over, and fall the other way as if it were backward.

I'm not a mechanic, and I'm not exactly sure what needs to be down there. I imagine some screw came loose, or some pin or something attaching it to the shifting mechanism is gone or came off.

I've been reading what I can on the internet about it, and other people were speaking of "false neutrals" between certain gears. Occasionally when I would gown down for first gear, then up for second, it would pop me into neutral instead of going all the way up to 2nd gear. I'm not sure if that's relevant but that's the only issue I've been having. As far as putting the bike down, I did minorly a few times over 6 months ago, but it was on the right side and the lever is on the left.

What I need to know:

1) Is there a picture that shows everything that needs to be down there that I can compare to my bike?

2) In your opinion (and I won't hold you to this), what do you think the likely cause of this is?

3) Is this a huge $$$ issue? I need to know what to budget to get up and running again.

Many thanks, and thanks in advance.

- Bo King
BoKing is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 16th, 2013, 10:11 AM   #2
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14