ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old May 31st, 2009, 02:45 AM   #1
sombo
Newb..... on a steeek! :D

Name: Mike

Motorcycle(s): 2012 Harley Davidson XL883L Sportster Superlow

Learning experiences

Well the last 2 days of riding have been rather eventful and educational. First, on Friday I knew I was running low on gas but wanted to see just how far I could push it before I needed gas. Well I made it to 192miles before I felt it start to sputter. Then like an idiot, I kept turning the reserve switch the wrong way and finally gave up and started pushing the bike (found out later I was about a good 6 miles or more from a station).

After a sheriff and then Disney security (yes I was on Walt Disney property) stopped by and told me help was on the way I sat and waited for over an hour. Finally I got tired of waiting and played with fuel switch some more and figured out that I was a newb idiot and got it to the reserve and fired her up. I made it to the station and filled up with 4 solid gallons at about 200 on tripmeter. Not bad for alot of city and somewhat aggressive driving.

Then last night while I was following my friend in his mustang on one of the main strips, we caught up with some of his car buddies. We followed in the middle lane doing about 50+ when suddenly I noticed a bumper (yes a complete plastic bumper) laying in the right lane. I knew that was a sign of trouble and started to slow down. Seconds later my friend hits his brakes hard forcing me to do the same. It wasn't until he quickly escaped to the right lane and into a parking lot that I realized several things: 1) the cars in front of him were at a dead stop because of a hit car turned sideways blocking our lane, 2) that my engine had stalled caused by me not pulling the clutch in all the way soon enough and 3) that my rear tire was locked up but that I still had control of the bike and came to a complete stop about 10 feet from the other stopped cars.