ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old June 28th, 2013, 06:32 PM   #1
2fidyswag
ninjette.org member

Name: Jay

Motorcycle(s): Kawasaki Ninja 250, Kawasaki 650

How to know if rotors are warped?

Being a noob I didn't check my pads regularly. Out of the blue last time I rode when I would come to a stop the bike would vibrate, it did that for about two stops and I went home. I looked online and saw it may be the rotors, so I took it outfront of my house and did a little test ride. And it didn't do it anymore. However whenever I walk the bike into my garage as the wheel turns at a certain point you hear a tiny bit of a grind. So I've parked the bike and inspected the rotors but they seem to look the same as my rear. Obviously I need to get new pads in there as quick as possible, but how do I know if I need a new rotor? I was gonna change the pads myself but now that I'm questioning my rotor I'm thinking of taking it to a local shop because I know the guy. Any ideas on what to do? I heard that when pads are super low they sometimes will grind, so it's not the metal on metal.

2011 ninja 250, 7k miles. haven't changed pads entire life of bike.
2fidyswag is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 28th, 2013, 09:37 PM   #2
tubarney
ninjette.org sage

Name: Brad

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250r 2010 SE

Your rotors are fine. Put the new pads on, if there is some serious binding then you have a problem.

With the new pads, jump on the bike and start of really slow, increasing your speed. If the bike brakes at any time then its warped.

Its pretty hard to warp a rotor, especially in 7k miles.

With that much milage, you should just be needing new pads, you should even get another 3-6k miles from the pads depending on how hard you brake.

How much is left on your pads?
tubarney is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 28th, 2013, 09:53 PM   #3
2fidyswag
ninjette.org member