ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 18th, 2011, 07:48 AM   #1
seldom
ninjette.org member

Name: Nick

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Blue Ninja 250R

4000 miles servicing.

My ninjette is soon to be needing a 4000 miles service. I am doing the servicing myself. I'll be doing the usual oil/filter change and clean/adjust chain.

Do i need to check the valve clearance and is it easy to check this. I have very little mechanical experience but I wouldn't mind doing this myself if there is a picturiol diy instructions.

I changed my front brake pads last week and today I found there was a leak on in the master cylinder. Why is this leaking? Should I change the bleed the brake? If there's a instruction on how to do this that'd be great. Would I have to change the fluid since I don't know what the dealer used incase I need to top up the master cylinder.
seldom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 18th, 2011, 08:13 AM   #2
Ichiro
ninjette.org member

Name: Ichiro

Motorcycle(s): 2008 250r(sold). 2013 Kymco Super8 150

Here is a sticky on the 2008+ Maintenance Schedule

http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10577
Ichiro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 18th, 2011, 06:33 PM   #3
Cuongism
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Cuong

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250r, 2007 Daytona 675

Technically speaking according to the service manual, only a brake inspection is called for in the 4k service. The major maintenance service is at 7500 miles which does involve the valve check. The valve check is time consuming and takes a few hours (more likely all day if you've never done it before).

Picture tutorial
http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=9787

Can you see your brake fluid in the window on your master cylinder? It is a very light amber color so may be hard to see. A brake fluid change is scheduled at 2years/15k miles unless it is truly leaking.