ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old February 28th, 2013, 08:13 AM   #1
xaple
ninjette.org guru

Name: Daniel "God"

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250

Unresponsive Throttle

Back story: I had a gas tank that had a huge dent/bend/crease in it that I had been using for the past 2 or 3 months. I discovered that a tank in such a condition could have rust on the inside that would cause problems with the carbs, such as clogging.

I now have a new tank that's in pristine condition but I'm not happy with the way my throttle is responding. If i pull in the clutch and try to give it a lot of gas it doesn't really do anything, like its coughing or something. Same thing happens when I'm moving or not moving. If i try and get a fast start sometimes it will pick up and go other times it will kind of lag a little then kick in.

I also have a full Area P exhaust system that I installed myself with a stage 2 Dynojet kit. I believe i have the #96 jets in (not 100% positive) with the idle screws turned out 2.5 turns and a washer under each needle. Kerry (AreaP owner) walked me through the whole process personally so i cant imagine my tune up was the problem being as it hasn't always been this way.

does this sound like a problem cleaning the carbs could fix? Or is it something more?
xaple is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2013, 08:24 AM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Check this thread first:

http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=124374
Motofool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2013, 08:26 AM   #3
DaBlue1
Long Time Rider

Name: Blue

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Have you checked to see if your filter is dirty or snorkel is blocked?
http://www.ninjette.org/wiki/Troubleshooting_Guide
DaBlue1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2013, 09:04 AM   #4
xaple