ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old June 7th, 2010, 12:05 PM   #1
bluestreak
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Blue

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250

Getting a 6 year old bike idling and running

Hi everyone, I'm new to bikes. I got a Ninja about 5 months ago but haven't been able to work on it because of a combination of bad weather and travel. But over the last two weekends I finally put it back together after cleaning and replacing all of the stuff that needed replacing. Hoses, fluids, spark plugs, new chain, re-grease, etc.

I bought the bike with 250 miles on it from a woman who didn't want it and left it sitting in her garage for years and years. I adjusted the valves because the manual said to do them at 400 miles. A few were a little tight. I adjusted them to the tighter end but within spec per the manual.

The Ninja 250 FAQ recommended getting rid of the plastic airbox because it's a PITA to remove and reinstall so I got a K&N filter. I also got a 2 into 1 aftermarket exhaust (Area P). I got a Factory Pro 3.0 jet kit to suit the new intake and exhaust and installed a new main jet and needle per the jet kit instructions. Before I installed the new jets, I cleaned the carbs with PJ1 and reamed the holes with a strand of copper wire. I set the floats and idle mix to stock.

The woman said the generic ("Dura Boost") battery was new when she sold it to me. It's been basically sitting on my trickle charger for 5 months.