ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycle Gear

Old August 19th, 2014, 10:24 AM   #1
MrAtom

Name: .

Motorcycle(s): .

MOTM - July '15
Cheap gear for newbies (Bilt gear?)

So, I don't even have my helmet or permit yet. I'm a college student with a very limited income. I've gone down to my local Cyclegear and seen a lot of Bilt stuff that had tempting pricetags, but I'm a little iffy. What's your opinion on Bilt gear? If you have any recommendations for cheap gear, I'm all ears. Spine/back protection is the BIGGEST thing for me aside from the legally mandatory helmet.

Oh, and I'm not looking to have an animal rights discussion or anything, but I don't buy leather. Fake leather is a-okay though
MrAtom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 19th, 2014, 10:31 AM   #2
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
don't buy bilt.

Old August 19th, 2014, 10:32 AM   #3
alex.s
wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAtom View Post
Oh, and I'm not looking to have an animal rights discussion or anything, but I don't buy leather. Fake leather is a-okay though
fake leather is not okay.

leather is the best protection you will find. if you are an animal rights activist, maybe invest in some human leather instead

Old August 19th, 2014, 10:36 AM   #4
csmith12
The Corner Whisperer

Name: Chris (aka Reactor)

Motorcycle(s): 2010 250 (track), 1992 250, 2006 R6 (street/track), 2008 R6 (track)

MOTY 2015, MOTM - Nov '12, Nov '13
Well....

First off, spend your biggest chunk of change on a helmet or.... SUPER deep discounts on lids occur at the end and beginning of riding season when the fashion riders need the current years model and the 3-5yr old models hit the $100 rack (give or take a 20 spot).