ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Notices

Old September 4th, 2014, 12:06 AM   #1
GunnaBoyEB
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Carter

Motorcycle(s): 2006 Kawasaki Ninja EX250

2006 Ninja 250 High Idle RPM

Hey folks,

So I am new to the motorcycle world and have acquired a 06 Ninja to commute to work and just ride around on. I am really enjoying myself thus far but there's a nagging issue with the bike that I am at a loss about (and all of my friends/coworkers are too.)

After riding around a bit (warm up) and coming to a stop light, the bike will idle at about 3k - 4k RPMs. Just sitting at the light not touching anything, clutch in, irrelevant of gear or neutral. I have played with the throttle, as if to close it with no change in RPMs. The choke is not engaged at all, I've messed with that too while sitting there. Idle knob has been tinkered with quite a bit but I am not an expert so I am not even sure if it has been done right. I know you have to warm the bike up and then adjust to the proper RPM (1k - 1.5k ish) which I have done.

The only time I can get the idle RPM to come down is if I let the gear catch a little, bring the RPMs down (due to gear catch) and then pull in the clutch at the normal idle range of 1.2k~.

Bikes condition: It sat for a while I know, but I have filled up the fuel tank a few times already and I have run out of gas once (sans reserve.) Less than 5k miles (yes, less than 5k on an 8 year old bike.) I put seafoam into this current tank to see if that would clear anything up and it hasn't made a difference that I can tell. I have noticed that in the fuel line right off the tank there is some air bubbles in the line at lower RPMs. I also witnessed some what appears to be "spitting" near that same clear gas line. I cannot see the drops or where they come from, but I can see them hitting the hot metal and evaporate away.