ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old October 4th, 2011, 12:55 PM   #1
crazyjayp
ninjette.org member

Name: Jay

Motorcycle(s): 06 Ninja ex250

bike wouldn't start this morning :(

06 ninja here - im new to motorcycles, only been riding for 2 months or so.

anyways, went to start my bike this morning, as i usually do. Put choke on, fire it up, then try to dial down the choke so it idles around 3k. (full choke it idles between 4-5k) It fired up fine, but stalled when i took the choke off too much. (this isnt unusual, usually i can just fire it right back up if i need to)

But it wouldn't turn the engine over again. if i hit the starter, the dash lights would go out, it would "click" once, then after about 15seconds, the lights would come back on again. Im thinking i have a weak battery.

I did a quick volt meter test, its at 12.4v. But i didn't test the amps in my haste this morning.

I also got the idea maybe i could coast start it down my driveway. If my bikes in neutral, i can coast down the driveway ok, but if i put it into first, i couldnt push it fast enough to do anything. I figured if i tried too much more of this, id end up dropping it, and be worse off than i already was. So i stopped.

I basically have 3 questions:

1) does it sound like a battery issue to you guys as well?

2) is it normal for the choke to be so sensitive? 1/8th of an inch is all the difference between idling at 4-5k and stalling out. (note this is while its cold. once warm it runs fine without choke.)

3) is there supposed to be that much friction while in 1st with the bike off and the clutch engaged?

sucks that i am "wasting" a perfectly good day to ride today...not too many left in illinois this year.
crazyjayp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 4th, 2011, 06:09 PM   #2
crazyjayp
ninjette.org member

After some more testing after work, does seem to be the battery. Volts go to 0 when I hit the starter.