ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 2nd, 2011, 04:14 AM   #1
NavyNinjaDoc
Navy Ninja Doc

Name: Michael

Motorcycle(s): 2008 kawasaki ninja 250R

Oil, Chain, and Clipon questions?

I am going to sound like a total newb here, but I dont care because it is for the greater good. I have a bike with 2000 miles on it roughly, runs great bought it from someone who gave me all of the maintance logs...it is all up to date and everything seems to be in order. I have put 250 miles on the bike, and I was wondering when I should lube the chain? and when should I do the first oil change? Also what is the glass window on the right side of the bike? Is this an oil level indicator? If so, When the bike is sitting level and running where sould the line be?

I feel like an ass for not knowing about it, but hey that is why I joined this forum in the first place...to learn! Any help would be appreciated!

On a side note, anyone have any thoughts on the Woodcraft clipons?

Old August 2nd, 2011, 04:57 AM   #2
bob706
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Sean

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250 1998 HD Road King

Lube chain every 400-600miles I think it states in the owners manual. Change the oil whenever you want. I forget what the manual has it at. I change mine roughly every 3-4K miles. The glass is for oil and the bike should be upright and not running to check the level. As far as clipons just do a search and you'll find eveything you need to know.
bob706 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 2nd, 2011, 05:20 AM   #3
DarC
DUCEATR

Name: Dan

Motorcycle(s): RVT1000R

Welcome!

Regular service such as chain clean/lube are at your discretion as far as frequency goes. There is always posted guidance, as mentioned above, but you can do it more frequently if you like.