ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycling News

Old October 2nd, 2017, 05:50 PM   #1
Ninjette Newsbot
All the news that's fit to excerpt

Name: newsie

Motorcycle(s): only digital replicas

[motorcycle.com] - Ask MO Anything: What? No-Clutch Shifting?

Dear MOby,

I’ve been riding my new-to-me Ninja 300 for about six months now, loving it along with the progress I feel like I’ve made as a rider, from rank beginner to semi-proficient. And now somebody tells me I don’t need to use the clutch to shift once I’m moving? Whaaaat? Is this true? Isn’t that going to break something?

Simon Handlebar Sinistre

Dear Simon,

Yes, it’s all true. Well, it kind of depends on your bike. Some motorcycles with great big flywheels and big gears, like many Harleys and some BMW Boxers, need the clutch – or at least a little clutch – for nearly every shift. Most sportbikes only need you to use the clutch to pull away from stops and for the shift from first to second gear.

At slow, around-town speeds, we mostly use at least a little clutch to shift anyway; you don’t need to pull the lever all the way in every time you use it. But if you’re steadily accelerating, and especially at WOT (wide open throttle), you’ll find that after second gear, if you roll the throttle closed just enough to unload the driveline, for just a split second, with your toe pressing on the lever, then third gear will slip right in without using the clutch at all. Fourth, 5th and 6th will slip in even easier since the gaps between them are increasingly smaller. Done smoothly, it’s no harder on your gearbox than using the clutch.