ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2013 - 2017 Ninja 300 > 2013 - 2017 Ninja 300 Tech Talk

Old July 26th, 2016, 04:17 PM   #1
Bevans555
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Brandon

Motorcycle(s): 13' Ninja 300

New rider needs help picking tires

I just purchased a 2013 ninja 300 with 6k miles and the stock roadwinners need to be replaced asap... Im brand new to riding, only logged about 55 miles so far. Anyway, the bike will be used for pleasure cruising and occasionally riding back and forth to work, I will not go to the track but would like a tire that has good enough grip for some fun riding on corners and that will give me confidence.

I was thinking about:

Bridgestone BT45
Michelin pilot street radials
Pirelli DR2
Pirelli sport demon

Looking for opinions on these tires. Again I'm a beginner and don't want to waste money on super high performance tires that I don't have the skills to properly use.... But I also don't want to get a tire that rides horribly stiff or might slide out on corners causing lack of confidence.

So what would you guys recommend?

Thanks!
Bevans555 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 26th, 2016, 04:24 PM   #2
Triple Jim
Guy Who Enjoys Riding

Name: Jim

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250

MOTM - Oct '18, Aug '17, Aug '16
I have BT45s on my '05 Ninja 250 and they're excellent in all ways, except they're too new to let me comment about tread life.

I had Sport Demons on my '89 Moto Guzzi Mille GT. They felt excellent at first, but the rear wore out very quickly. The front developed a chattery way of taking corners well before I reached the tread wear indicators. Obviously they may behave differently on a little Ninja.

I don't know if they're available in the sizes you need, but I really like Avon Roadriders on every bike I've tried them on, which includes my Yamaha DT100 mini roadracer and a Yamaha RZ350. They have excellent and predictable traction, and good life from what I can tell so far.
Triple Jim is offline   Reply With Quote