ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old June 2nd, 2013, 06:50 PM   #1
Navigator
ninjette.org member

Name: Lester

Motorcycle(s): 2011 Ninja 250R, 1979 Elsinore 125R

Hard Braking Turned Into a Tank Slapper

I have no idea how this happened as I was expecting the rear to come off the ground but instead the front did like 5 or 6 slaps before the tire slid. I have sport demons front and rear. A cager made a sudden U-turn right in front of me so I had to brake hard. Yes I crashed but stopped within a few inches of the car.

I will be into my 6th week of healing a broken collar bone from the above accident and would like to ride again soon. Any suggestions where I should be looking for problems? My steering head bearings are not loose and my brake pads are about 50% worn, same with the tires about 50% worn also.

This ninjette is my 10th motorcycle and I have been riding for more than 30 years. This is the first time it happened to me as all other hard braking I did always resulted in the rear coming off the ground.

Thanks for your inputs.
Navigator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 2nd, 2013, 07:01 PM   #2
Aggrotech
ninjette.org sage

Name: Justin

Motorcycle(s): 12' Ninja 250

Road condition when the tank slapper occurred?
Aggrotech is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 2nd, 2013, 07:09 PM   #3
cuong-nutz
RIP Alex

Name: Cuong

Motorcycle(s): '10 250r, '09 265r

My guess you had a lot of weight on the handle bars.

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
Old June 2nd, 2013, 07:25 PM   #4
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
^^^ +1

sounds like rider error to me

Old June 2nd, 2013, 07:49 PM   #5
Navigator
ninjette.org member

Concrete road was dry, maybe a little dusty.

So there's nothing wrong with my bike? First time I ever had a tank slapper happen and it came as a complete surprise.

"Rider error" is too broad. Can you be more specific?