ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old June 28th, 2012, 09:02 AM   #1
Potenza
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Dustin

Motorcycle(s): EX250

Unhappy Cam chain tensioner reoccuring problem!

First post here. There is a lot of good information regarding this, but I didn't want to open an old thread or steal someone else's, and I really wanted to focus on my specific problem. Thanks in advance for any help.

Here's the situation: I bought my bike April 18th this year. 2005 EX250. It had 5300 miles.

At 5700 miles, I did a valve adjustment. I'm entirely new to bikes, but I'm a car mechanic and followed the instructions on this site, so I think I did it right. Afterwards it ran fine.

Took a motorcycle course a few days later, which involved HOURS of idling in a parking lot on an extremely hot day. Bike ran hot most of the time (though never in the red). Developed a loud "clicking" and started running poorly. The instructor commented that he thought my valves were out of adjustment.

Upon coming home and reading up, I decided to check out the CCT. Sure enough the parts were dry and dirty, and the ball bearings were scored along with the rod and cap which they ride against. I cleaned everything with brakekleen, covered it all with oil and reinstalled it. The bike ran quiet and smooth, like new. I ordered a new tensioner. This was at 6069 miles.

Bike was still running well when I installed the new Kawi CCT at 6270 miles. Added Honda moly grease to the parts. Ran smooth as could be. By 6500 miles it was rattling again. I thought maybe I over-greased it. Took it out, wiped away some of the grease, replaced it. Still made too much noise.