ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old March 8th, 2012, 03:46 PM   #1
NorthKoast
ninjette.org member

Name: Mark

Motorcycle(s): '09 250R

head gasket?

im new to bikes, but i am wondering if any of you all can point me in the right direction. please do not roast me too bad ... i already know i probably made a huge rookie mistake.

i changed the oil on my bike late last fall and i overfilled my oil without realizing it .... i ran the bike up the road a few miles and back when i realized oil dripping from the bottom of bike. needless to say my heart dropped and i feared the worse. i stopped the bike and checked the oil level in the window and it shows it at proper level (i'm assuming it blew out all the excess oil, though i don't know where from)

anyways i just changed the oil a couple weeks ago getting ready for spring riding soon. i drained the old and replaced with the correct amount of new oil. i ran the bike (snow on ground so i didn't ride) to warm it up and everything looks and sounds as it should. now i have the bike at school (trailered it here) and i started it up today and the oil level is low and it is "milky" colored in the window and i smell anti-freeze when i run the bike. i shut the bike off immediately.

whats wrong with my bike? How bad did i mess it up?

it runs great as it should and it has no weird sounds coming from engine and the coolant/oil lights do not turn on. also no smoke from exhaust or anywhere else.

did i blow a head gasket? or??

thanks for your help guys!
NorthKoast is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 8th, 2012, 06:55 PM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Check for oil floating on the coolant, as you check thru the radiator cap and expansion tank.

Compression should be low if your gasket is blown.
A compression and leak down tests could tell.