ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old November 4th, 2012, 01:29 AM   #1
coelgrim
ninjette.org member

Name: Garry

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Ninja 250R

Unhappy Is this normal, the level of coolant in filler neck after changing it?(with picts)

Hello everyone, I am newbie here and I own an ninja 250R yr2010, I just changing my coolant here (following standar procedure in service manual).
I drain the old coolant,
Drain the coolant from reservoir tank, then
I put a new coolant in till the filler neck and full line in reservoir tank!
then I purging the air using normal procedure (running the engine with radiator cap OFF).

After that, I put the radiator cap ON, and then running the engine till the radiator FAN swings!

voila, that should be done, then I open the radiator cap, check the coolant level,and found the coolant level is dropped a bit, then I add a small amount of coolant to get to full of filler neck.

and then again I warm up the engine (this time by riding it around my neighbourhood), stop and wait till cold, then open the radiator cap again, check the coolant level, I just shocked, AGAIN, why the coolant level is again, dropped a bit??

Here is the picture of the level where coolant dropped a bit :

more close up pict :

Even so , the level of coolant in reservoir tank is just fine !

the view when reservoir cap off :

Please help me, is the level of coolant normal? Does this happen to everybody? Thanks btw

coelgrim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 4th, 2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
It is just air trapped between that point and the overflow tank.

It is not "normal", but won't hurt if the engine doesn't overheat.

That cap is a relief valve (when coolant gains temperature) and a vacuum valve (when the coolant looses temperature).