ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old December 25th, 2022, 06:09 PM   #1
Chef.tyrone
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Ty

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R

Issues starting the bike (for a noob!)

Hello all! Total noob here.

I’ve recently started working on an abandoned 250R, branching into the world of motorcycles and mechanics. I have virtually zero experience beyond what I’ve learned from YouTube, and am looking for some pointers on where to go from here.

After a few hours of replacing the spark plugs and batteries, I was able to get the thing running, but the engine would only stay running at high RPM’s and wouldn’t idle without shutting off. After replacing the air filter (it was disgustingly dirty) and having someone clean and reinstall the carbs, I’m now trying to reassemble everything, and the bike won’t start.

With the key in, the dash lights will turn on, but the bike won’t crank over or start at all. The battery/bike were sitting dissembled in my garage for two months, and I’m wondering where the issue might be. Is this the right forum for these questions? I could just take it into a shop and tell them to let me know when it’s figured out, but I’m trying to balance this being a learning experience with me not quitting out of ineptitude and frustration.

Thanks in advance yall!!
Chef.tyrone is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 13th, 2023, 04:47 AM   #2
Bob KellyIII
Retired motorcycle Mc.

Name: Robert

Motorcycle(s): 2012 Kawasaki Ninja 250R, 2021 CSC TT250, 1977 Triumph Bonneville 750cc,2001 Honda XR650L.

Sounds like there is no fire getting to the plugs.... so is the kill switch on the right side handle bar in the RUN position ? if it's not it will do exactly that !
it will crank but not start....
if it is then perhaps a fuze has been blown
and another word of warning here is needed... these carbs are the hardest to clean of any motorcycle I have ever owned and I had a motorcycle shop !