ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old April 9th, 2012, 05:26 PM   #1
brinksta
ninjette.org member

Name: tanner

Motorcycle(s): none yet

Help Buying From A Private Seller

I have some questions. I am thinking about buying a used bike from a private seller a couple hours away. I am going to have a friend take me.

Will I be able to ride it home? I have a motorcycle permit? Even though it would still be registered to him? But I would have a signed over title right?

Do I have to get new plates after I get home, or can I keep the old one?

Sorry, I am new to this. Any other tips would be appreciated. Oh and I live in Oklahoma if that matters.
brinksta is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 9th, 2012, 05:31 PM   #2
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

Check your state's DMV page, I can almost guarantee there will be a FAQ section about how to buy and/or sell a vehicle.

Permit means you can ride any bike, whether you own it or not. In California at least, you generally keep the plates on the bike as you ride away, but you can also leave the plates, and apply for new ones (for additional cost at the DMV).

ninjette.org Terms of Service

Shopping for motorcycle parts or equipment? Come here first.

The friendliest Ninja 250R/300/400 forum on the internet! (especially Unregistered)
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 9th, 2012, 05:39 PM   #3
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Couple of hours is a long first trip (~100 or 120 miles?)

Check the Oklahoma laws about helmet wearing; regardless, wearing one and a jacket and boots will be best.

If you are carrying cash, move the transaction onto a place with cameras, like the parking lot of a bank.