ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old September 9th, 2013, 08:28 PM   #1
deanomyte
ninjette.org member

Name: dean

Motorcycle(s): 99 honda rebel/ 04 ninjette

Normal operating temp

I know the ninjette's are famous for being cold blooded, but I'm new to them and was wondering what the normal operating temp is? Also, what temp is considered overheating on these bikes?
deanomyte is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 9th, 2013, 08:36 PM   #2
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
200F.

normal coolant boils around 250F

Old September 9th, 2013, 09:09 PM   #3
deanomyte
ninjette.org member

So if 200 is the normal operating temp, what is the overheat temp? 215? 225?

Old September 9th, 2013, 09:15 PM   #4
NevadaWolf
Certified looney toon

Name: Teri

Motorcycle(s): 2012 Ninja 250, 102k+ miles -- 2014 CB500X, 42k+ miles

MOTM Jul '13, Jul '14
I think I just read the fan kicks on at 220*, but not entirely sure if that is accurate or if that applies to only one or both the generations. I'm trying to get my newgen hot enough to run the fan but gave up.
Hold yourself to the same rules you expect others to follow.
NevadaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 9th, 2013, 10:05 PM   #5
Asspire
Fix It Till Ya Break It

Name: Asspyre

Motorcycle(s): 08 250RRrrrr

Fan comes on at 210 for me on my temp gauge
Asspire is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 10th, 2013, 06:16 AM   #6
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanomyte View Post
I know the ninjette's are famous for being cold blooded, but I'm new to them and was wondering what the normal operating temp is? Also, what temp is considered overheating on these bikes?
Normal operating temperature depends on where it is measured, on the regime of work and on the rate of cooling.