ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycle Gear

Old August 20th, 2009, 06:55 AM   #1
dimeified
ninjette.org guru

Name: Lucas

Motorcycle(s): '09 Blue 250R

The dangers of polyester protective gear

I did a search and didn't really find anything on this forum on the topic, but i think it should be discussed and possibly a sticky because newer riders who are uninformed may buy gear that isn't in their best interest. There are several sources out there speaking on the dangers of riding with protective gear made from polyester. Supposedly once the material heats up, it can bond and fuse itself to any surface, namely your skin, which has you in the ER, doctors peeling polyester skin sheets off your muscles, and receiving skin grafts instead of walking away from the scene of the accident unharmed. I am by no means an expert on this topic, but some of you are, and i would like you to post in here your thoughts of what brands and materials to select or to stay away from. I just noticed my mesh jacket is 100% polyester, i wish i had known about this before i bought it so i could have saved my money. Thoughts...

Old August 20th, 2009, 07:15 AM   #2
bob706
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Sean

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250 1998 HD Road King

Polyester jacket = better than nothing. I would think that you would have to slide across a pretty good length of pavement for that stuff to melt to your skin. I personally like my leather jacket over my mesh jacket even though it can get uncomfortably warm at stop lights.
bob706 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 20th, 2009, 07:37 AM   #3
SteveL
old git

Name: Steve

Motorcycle(s): BMW K1300S

Polyester only becomes a problem in a fire when like other man made fabrics melts; I don’t see how it’s an issue on a bike.

Steve

Old August 20th, 2009, 07:55 AM   #4
Greg_E
ninjette.org sage

Name: Greg

Motorcycle(s): 90 Suzuki gsx600f Katana, 03 Buell XB9R

How many racing suits are made out of polyester?