ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old May 27th, 2011, 11:51 AM   #1
MrBrownTX
ninjette.org member

Name: Brown

Motorcycle(s): 1995 Ninja EX250

Hey Texas Riders, got a Q? for yall

Quick story(Not directly related to the question, but Good News!): So about a month ago my wife said, after 8 years of me asking, "Go get a motorcyle, I am tired of buying Diesel for your truck". I bought a beat up old 1995 ninja 250 for $1200. Its not pretty but it ran and had a clear title in hand(seems to be rare on Craigslist to get both of those things on a cheap bike). I had to wait a couple of weeks to get the tag title stuff sorted. Then when I started riding it around it was SUPER sluggish, had sat for a long time with the previous owner, but it ran atleast. I put some carb cleaner in it and rode it for a few days. I rode it up to the Kawi dealer to get stuff to do an oil change and it wouldn't start back up there. I left it for a carb job, almost 3 weeks later I finally got it back yesterday!! It runs amazing comared to how it did.

The Question: How do I go about getting a leaners permit in Texas? On the DPS website it says you have to take the MSF class for a permit. It also says you have to take the MSF class for a license. That isn't really clear.

In FL where I learned to ride many years ago, I took the written to get a permit and just kept renewing it. I never made it down to the DMV to take the road test.

I do plan on taking the MSF this summer because I am sure I will learn stuff from it. In the mean time I want to get a permit to be legal.
MrBrownTX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 27th, 2011, 12:23 PM   #2
TXJ
Cranky Old Fart

Name: TXJ

Motorcycle(s): 08 DRZ400SM

Seems the wife knows best. My wife made me get a bike again because my idea of a "expensive date night out on the town" was going to the local texaco and filling up my truck with 16 gallons. LOL!