ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycling News

Old April 9th, 2014, 06:00 PM   #1
Ninjette Newsbot
All the news that's fit to excerpt

Name: newsie

Motorcycle(s): only digital replicas

[motorcycle.com] - Head Shake Helping

When I started riding on the street I had already established a short yet violent resume on the asphalt. I had wrecked a Cosworth Vega … twice. I’d blown up a Fiat X1/9 … twice. I endoed and rolled a Porsche 914 at something approaching triple-digit speeds so violently it ripped out one of the half shafts and left one of the rear wheels lying in the road. It was black Reynolds Wrap before that mess was over. Oh, and I bent Mom’s Firebird, a lot …

I was, in short, a complete idiot. Any reasonable person would conclude that behavior of this sort would lead to a short lifespan. What a great time to start riding, right? Which is exactly what I did, but we’ll get back to that.

Just within the past few years I have had occasion to advise two gentlemen who apparently had mishandling motorcycles on what should be correct tire pressures for their bikes. This does not make me a genius. In fact, truth be known, these are both highly successful, highly paid professionals in the Washington D.C.-Baltimore region who have enough IQ points to host a MENSA mixer. Amazingly, after my advice, both bikes suddenly would go around a corner and act properly. It made me look like a genius, right? Wrong, I’m not. What it does make me is a guy who has been around bikes a long time and paid attention occasionally. And that only happened a couple of ways: Because somebody helped me out.

Mike Reid raced an old FZR600 of ours for years, his son Jordon was a constant companion. Jordon got older and followed in dad’s footsteps, becoming an accomplished racer in his own right.