Go Back   ninjette.org > New Members

Notices

Old February 4th, 2017, 10:51 AM   #1
Winder
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Dave

Motorcycle(s): 06 Ninja 250

Howdy from SC!

Hi everyone, just got into riding and got my first bike..a 06 Ninja 250. I've been riding for about 6 months now. Im loving it, but I tend to think about the serious side of things a little too much (like getting hit or ran over by a large trucks and suvs), and it kind of ruins the fun of it for me. We have a lot of drivers here, and Riding in traffic on the highway grinds on my nerves so much that I'm beginning to look at it as something I don't wanna do anymore.

Anyone have any tips on how to increase my riding confidence so that I can actually have fun riding out there amongst other people on the roads?, and help it to not just feel like an exercise in road survival for me? I do wear full gear so that helps...I'm loving track riding though, as I don't have to worry about getting ran over.

Glad to be aboard here!
Winder is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 4th, 2017, 11:04 AM   #2
Triple Jim
Guy Who Enjoys Riding

Name: Jim

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250

MOTM - Oct '18, Aug '17, Aug '16
Hi Dave, it's good to meet you. My solution is to find roads that have very little traffic. Around here that's easy. I know your area a bit because I spent some time working up around Georgetown. You should be able to head west, northwest, southwest, and find back roads that are fun to ride. Just stay away from the coast, route 17, and the main roads into the area like 26 and the ones that parallel it. Looking at a map now, I see a lot of little roads west of town, and some look pretty curvy. You just have to check a map to get some ideas of where you want to try going, and go out and see how it works out.