ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old July 16th, 2013, 12:48 AM   #1
dave42
ninjette.org guru

Name: dave

Motorcycle(s): ninja 250, ZX6r, RSV4, Caponord Rally

Lee Parks Total Control ARC

My fiancee and I took Lee's level 1 course a little over a week ago and would like to share our impressions. I know some of the guys here have taken it before; please feel free to hop in and tell us what your thoughts are.

Our class met up outside of Camp Pendleton's gate at 7:30am on a Saturday. First order of business was checking and adjusting our tire pressure. As a whole, our class had some pretty experienced riders. I've been riding for over 10 years and I think half of the class was in the same boat. One is a current MSF instructor, a couple of guys have been riding for 20 years, then there's my fiancee, who's been doing actual riding for a little over 3 months (although she does about 350 miles per week). This brings up an interesting point that was noted later in the day.

Out of roughly 15 bikes we had 1 Ninjette, maybe 4 supersports, 2 superbikes, a few sport touring bikes, a goldwing, some other sport bikes such as a Ninja 650, a Ninja 1000, etc. No cruisers this time around. The ninjette's set to 28psi while the 600's (including my own) were set to 30 to improve grip. After that was sorted out we started our classroom session, followed by range time, followed by more classroom lectures, then more range time, with some additional exercises thrown to introduce and reinforce some concepts introduced during the lectures.