ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old January 19th, 2011, 07:07 PM   #1
onizthegnome
certified newbie

Name: oniz

Motorcycle(s): 08 ninja 250r blue

switched to synthetic / debris in old oil

hey everyone, i just did another oil change yesterday and i switched out from 10w40 to 5w40 synthetic (shell rotella T). its supposed to be better for colder climates from what ive read. i also replaced the oil filter and i found a lot of gritty particles in the oil when i drained it and also around the old oil filter. how bad is it to have debris in your oil? any way to prevent this from happening or is it normal?

Old January 19th, 2011, 07:22 PM   #2
scotty
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Scott

Motorcycle(s): Yahama v star 650 classic

What is it? Metal, or just clumpy oil? Synthetic oil will help clean your motor out. So dirt/old oil build up could be comming out. Could be a good thing, but I am by no means a pro when it comes to oil. (I just know it starts a lot of fuss with people) lol

Old January 19th, 2011, 08:07 PM   #3
onizthegnome
certified newbie

ive read multiple articles about what the right oil is and it seems like its 50/50 about who is right and who is wrong about what oil to use. you would think there is a definite answer to it by now. very frustrating! oh well. the particles seemed to be metallic and hard. kind of like sand made of metal. there wasnt too much of it but i definitely saw some around the rubber o rings when i changed the oil filter. i could be wrong because i didnt strain it for further inspection but im guessing it is.

Old January 19th, 2011, 08:15 PM   #4
scotty

Maybe someone who knows more about this could chime in. If this were happening to me, I would run the bike on the new oil for a few days then drain it and check for more particles. Then of course put new oil and a filter in. It may just be dirt working it's way out.?.