ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old September 14th, 2011, 12:17 AM   #1
KChatham
ninjette.org member

Name: Kyle

Motorcycle(s): 1988 EX250 Ninja

My version of handlebar risers

Hey all!

I'm Kyle, I just started lurking these forums the last few days. This is a great site with tons of information and what seems like a great community. I wanted to share the lowered handlebar risers I design and machined for my 88 ninja with you guys and get some input.

The reason for making these was because I plan on taking my bike to the track but wanted to make it a little more track ready than just the stock bike. I'm also a poor college student wanting to mod my bike so instead of spending $150 for clip-ons or risers I made my own risers, handlebars, and bar ends for around $60-70.

I wanted to share with you the design process. The software and tools used were solidworks to CAD, camworks to CAM, and a Haas VF2 and a TM1 to machine.

My design parameters:
durable
simple
adjustable
light
cosmetics

I wanted something that would give me a better feel but wouldn't break the first time I dropped the bike on the track.

The first step was figuring how I wanted to mount the bars. My initial design was much like the woodcraft clipons for the 08+ where they clip on below the triple tree and came up around it. I didn't like this design because it felt like a lot of extra material was used. I finally opted for a design very close to stock but would offer the lowered bar height, was adjustable to clear the tank and to get the right feel.