ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old November 13th, 2015, 01:36 PM   #1
goldfox
ninjette.org member

Name: John

Motorcycle(s): '06 Ninja 250

Question Timing chain jumped - Curious about shop quote

A few weeks back, I was riding home ('06 250) from work when there was a thunk (mostly felt instead of heard), and the bike died on me. It wouldn't start up again at all. I was able to coast into a parking lot and got someone to come over with a truck to get me home.

I took it to a shop to get it looked at, and just got the news that the timing chain apparently jumped time, but didn't break or stretch - however, it caused a piston to hit a valve, so I'll have to get them replaced (no other damage, apparently!)

I was quoted about $600-$650 for the job, and wanted to run it by everyone here to see if that sounds fair. I have the funds to fix it, but wanted to be sure I wasn't being overcharged, since this is my first time having to take it to a shop.

Thanks!
goldfox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 13th, 2015, 02:36 PM   #2
dcj13
Participant

Name: Dave

Motorcycle(s): '94 K75 std

MOTM - Aug '15
Sounds reasonable to me: several hours work, plus piston(s) and valve(s), a timing chain tensioner, and maybe a timing chain and sprocket(s).
dcj13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 13th, 2015, 02:58 PM   #3
SLOWn60
n00bie to wannabie

Name: Bill

Motorcycle(s): 2012 250R (Red), 2005 VFR800A (Red), CRF450X (Red), 2012 F800GS (Wants to be Red!)

MOTM - Nov '15
That's the cost of a basic BMW service on my F800GS!
The Smart Money: #1 - ATGATT, #2 - Training (machine skills and survival skills), #3 - The bike; whatever floats yer boat with the money you have left over
SLOWn60 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 13th, 2015, 04:44 PM   #4
Racer x
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Eric

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Kawmeracchi 350 2010 Project X

MOTM - Sep '18, Feb '16