Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old May 24th, 2011, 07:44 AM   #1
Kitri
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Jane

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

Smile Newbie needs advice on downshifting

Hi Everyone,
I'm an newbie rider with a 2007 Ninja. I've taken an MSF course & I've been riding for about 3 - 4 weeks now. I feel pretty comfortable shifting gears as I accelerate, but I'm having trouble downshifting. I can do it, but the bike lurches a bit, and I'd like to make the transition smoother. When I downshift I usually roll of throttle, brake, then downshift, then release clutch (think I'm releasing slowly, but maybe not slowly enough), then a little throttle, but still get the lurch. I would like to downshift as I approach a light, stop sign, and slowing for a corner from 4th speed up.

I've read about blipping, but I'd rather not do that if I don't have to. Being middle aged, my mind-hand coordination aren't that great, plus, in my MSF class, the instructor was all over me about not completely covering the front brake when I was braking (hard to do when you blip).

So what I'm looking for is some advice about downshifting, when & how.. I know it will require practice, but would like a little advice from you all

Thank you - thank you for considering my newbie question!!!

Kitri

PS - I probably should've posted to riding skills forum, sorry about that - next time I will

Last futzed with by Kitri; May 24th, 2011 at 07:52 AM. Reason: Wrong forum -sorry
Kitri is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 24th, 2011, 07:53 AM   #2
CThunder-blue
ModMy250.com

Name: Tri

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R, 2005 R6

Hi Jane and welcome to the forums!