ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old July 31st, 2012, 10:12 AM   #1
dcx4610
ninjette.org member

Name: Daniel

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250R

Dogs hate the Ninja

Just had my first dog encounter yesterday. I'm only about 200 miles into riding so I'm still learning various things and getting my shifts down smoothly.

Here I am riding back home then I catch something out of the corner of my eye. A dog darts into the road, has full eye contact with me and gets inches from the bike of me hitting him.

Thankfully he came at me from the side and I sped up just in time but if he came at me in the front, there is no doubt I would have hit him and probably dropped the bike. I was shocked at how calm I stayed and didn't freak out and swerve or slow down.

I had read something on a forum that stuck with me saying something to the effect of you can't be squeamish when it comes to animals. If they are in your path, it's better to just hold on tight and hit them rather than swerve or emergency brake and end up low or high siding. It may sound cruel but a squirrel isn't going to have a 25k medical bill.

Anyway, just wanted to share as even though they talked about dogs in the MSF, I never thought I'd experience much less this quickly into my riding experience.

Anyone have any dog stories?
dcx4610 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 31st, 2012, 10:15 AM   #2
fatestkid
ninjette.org member

Name: fatty

Motorcycle(s): ninja 250

Glad you and the dog are okay!

Old July 31st, 2012, 03:50 PM   #3
ninjamunky85
Que Buenos Son!!!

Name: Ryan

Motorcycle(s): Aprilia Shiver 750, Husaberg FE 450, Ninja 300 (sold), xr100

MOTM - Nov '14
I think it's funny when dogs chase me. If I see a dog coming from my side I slow down, then when it gets close I hit the throttle and I'm gone before he ever had a chance.

One time this happened to me while I was passing a guy on a bicycle. I sped up and the dog forgot about me and went right for the guy on the bicycle.