ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > New Members

Old January 25th, 2012, 10:17 PM   #1
ajcadoo
Towster ['__'`,-,

Name: Josh

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Green Ninja 250 SE

Soon to be 2008 Ninja 250 owner...What are some tips?

So I am new to the whole motorcycle thing. I have done a lot of research and I need a mode of transportation that is fun, yet saves on fuel. I consider myself to be a hypermiler, so the thought of owning a motorcycle is a no-brainer.

I am actually in the process of completing the MSF Beginning Rider course. I just finished the classroom part (and got a 100% on the multiple choice test; it was pie). I will be out on the range this weekend and I am looking forward to finally getting on a bike. Explaining how shifting a bike works seems so utterly complex for my automatic tranny mindset. I am quite worried that the transition from an automatic car to a street bike is going to be extremely frustrating and cumbersome for a long time.

I have only driven a manual transmission car once, so I understand the fundamentals, but a motorcycle seems to be such a more difficult piece of machinery to operate.

Couple questions:

I plan to purchase a used 2008+ Ninja 250 in the coming months. Where should I buy: from a dealer, or private seller? I dont wanna pay too much if I were to go to a dealer, but I dont wanna buy a lemon. I also plan to take a mechanic with me if I purchase from a private owner. Should I take a mechanic when buying from a dealer?

What is a good mileage to buy at? I would be using it for commuting in city streets primarily.

What are some common maintenance issues I may come across when purchasing used?

Should I buy gear online, or at the store?

My first modification is going to be the exhaust; what kind should I get? And are there any HP gains with a new exhaust? My exhaust for my car claimed to give a 6+ HP gain, yet I call BS on it.