ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 4th, 2011, 06:51 AM   #1
afroman10
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Joe

Motorcycle(s): 250r

Stock Tires and Leaning

Hello, I have a 2010 Ninja 250r with those so-called "sucky" stock IRC tires.

I've been recently trying to lean down to the knee, but I don't trust these tires too much. According to what I read on the internet, the tires are not such good for fast cornering, etc...

Does anyone have any experience with these tires. Has anyone successfully leaned on them?

I would also like a recommendation on the new tires for next season. I will not change them this year since they're brand new and I'm still learning on the bike.
afroman10 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 07:03 AM   #2
Dr. Ew
Yoshi

Name: Dr. Ew

Motorcycle(s): 11 Ninja 250

I got it down to less than a 1/4 of chicken strips on the stocks. Some parts is scrubbed to the edge. Holds up pretty good i say. Just good throttle control, know when its ok based on road conditions, and a whole lot of other things to concider before getting a knee down. Be safe n have fun.
Dr. Ew is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 07:04 AM   #3
Vampyre
ninjette.org sage

Name: Joseph

Motorcycle(s): 2011 250R Black, 2005 ZX-6R Blue

My friend Mat (caps on here) has leaned all the way to the edge of the stock tires. I believe a few others have as well. I am starting to get there. I noticed when I was first riding, when I would lean it felt a little unstable. Now I have learned that that was me, not the tires. What was making it unstable was my uncertainty while I was leaned over.
Vampyre is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 07:11 AM   #4
SpeedDemon
ninjette.org member

Name: Jon

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250